Forever Era – EPK (private link)

Forever Era
Forever Era
May 13 2022
File 13 Records / Coup Sur Coup




Bandcamp Pre-order Link:

Yukio Murata, Adam Reach, Justin Sinkovich (photos by members, click for files)

About Forever Era:
Yukio Murata – guitar, sequencers, keyboards, vocals

Justin Sinkovich – guitar, keyboards, vocals
Adam Reach – drums, sequencers

When Chicago’s The Poison Arrows postponed their new album and touring in the spring/summer of 2020, guitarist/vocalist Justin Sinkovich (The Poison Arrows Acquaintances, Atombombpocketknife, Thumbnail) relocated to a house in the woods about 3 hours from Chicago for over a year, and started constructing tracks for a new project. As the project took shape, Justin messaged his long-time friend and File 13 label mate Yukio Murata (My Way My Love, Inoran, The Mortal) in Tokyo to contribute. Yukio dove into every track, quickly becoming a co-producer and member. Adam Reach (The Poison Arrows, Pink Avalanche) had also moved from Chicago to Chapel Hill, NC, and provided foundational sequencers and live drum tracks on several key tracks remotely as well. A couple of songs were quietly revealed on streaming services as the album was completed.

If you are familiar with The Poison Arrows and My Way My Love, imagine these bands deconstructing their framework into a dizzying array of sequencers, drum machines, samplers, synthesizers, and experimentations with their more typical drums, guitars, and vocals providing the final aesthetic layers, all being shared back and forth across time zones.

Debut Self-Titled LP Art (photo by Justin Sinkovich, design by David Babbitt – click for files)

Album Credits:
Yukio Murata – guitar, sequencers, keyboards, vocals
Justin Sinkovich – guitar, keyboards, vocals
Adam Reach – drums, sequencers on 1, 2, 6, and 9 + Brooke Shoemaker – co-producer and keyboards on “This is See You Later, Not Goodbye”

Recorded by Justin Sinkovich and Yukio Murata in their spaces
Mixed by Justin Sinkovich and Yukio Murata
Mastered by Bob Weston
Photo by Justin Sinkovich
Art Direction by David Babbitt

Debut Album Info:
The debut self-titled LP from Forever Era is a unique and frenetic one. The opening track “Patterns Per Partition” starts with a frantic array of dueling guitars, keyboards, and vocals from both Yukio and Justin on top of a Suicide-inspired sequencer and multiple drum kits from Adam. Track 2 “Subject Fell” follows suit with more of a reliance on the live drum kits and samplers. The record meanders into a more drum machine-driven affair for the remainder of side A. Keyboards drip with space echo and distortion on “Bluetooth Séance” and “Medieval Path” striking a symbiotic between chaos, darkness, and melody to provide a platform for Justin’s swaggered spoken word. And then “ADAT Hit” could almost end up at a retro IDM night, but not quite. Its title references the antiquated Alesis Digital Audio Tape (ADAT) tech that chained recorders that recorded on VHS tapes and were quite prevalent in studios in the 90’s if you can imagine such barbaric technology. From there, side B of the album toggles from more analog elements back to more electronics, and from instrumentals to intermittent vocals.

The production of the album was very fluid as it was transferred from member-to-member usually ignoring traditional practices by ditching the multi-track individual instrument manipulation ability by sending a stereo mix of a track to another member so that they can quickly and easily layer their contribution on top of it as another stereo mix and send it back. This process something a traditional audio engineer would likely never consider. All together the album is complex to digest but is fun to figure out what the hell is going on and we think it came together quite nicely as a volume of experimentation balancing cohesion and chaos.

Track list:

  1. Patterns Per Partition
  2. Subject Fell 
  3. Bluetooth Seance
  4. Medieval Path
  5. ADAT Hit
  6. The Sun Rises and Sets
  7. Will Rise
  8. Souther of Heaven (Why We Retrograde)
  9. Anniversary Electrician
  10. This is See You Later, Not Goodbye