FT81 - The Silent League 'Of Stars and Other Somebodies'

  1. Canary in the Coalmine0:00Buy Now

  2. Victim of Aeroplanes0:00Buy Now

  3. Kings and Queens0:00Buy Now

  4. Before You Started0:00Buy Now

  5. Let It Roll0:00Buy Now

  6. Character Assassination0:00Buy Now

  7. The Tolka, Not the Liffey0:00Buy Now

  8. Untied0:00Buy Now

  9. Out of Reach0:00Buy Now

  10. Second Canary Test0:00Buy Now

  11. Prayer for the Nihilist0:00Buy Now

  12. A Dry Hallway0:00Buy Now

  13. Kings&Queens - Nightmoves Remix - Bonus Track0:00Buy Now

  14. Character Assassination - Matt Henderson Remix - Bonus Track0:00Buy Now

  15. Before You Started - Early Demo - Bonus Track0:00Buy Now

  16. Victim of Aeroplanes - Live at O2 Festival - Bonus Track0:00Buy Now


The Silent League was formed in 2004 in Brooklyn by Justin Russo (then keyboardist for Mercury Rev during the classic Deserter’s Songs/All is Dream era). File 13 released the band’s debut album The Orchestra, Sadly, Has Refused in 2004 to worldwide acclaim. The Silent League has since appeared to be an on-again/off-again relationship between a collective of musicians interested only in periodically making records, playing shows, and disappearing again. This may be true as nobody in New York ever seems quite sure whether or not the band still exists.

Their beautiful second album, Of Stars and Other Somebodies was never released in North America -- until now. Lay tracks through the past 5-6 years worth of new music (take Arcade Fire, Interpol, Beirut, St. Vincent, Stars Like Fleas, Bishop Allen…) and you’re going to run over more than a handful of people who began with or spent time creating music under the The Silent League moniker… many of them still do, you just don’t know it.

“We don’t really care about maintaining a place in the industry. There is enough noise in the world and everyone has other work to busy themselves with,” says Russo, “We try to keep it new, detached… We make music when we think we have something to say that isn’t already being said.”